Sonata for Harp
‘The Bamboo Forest’
duration: 21’
GRT • 217


score available from
Australian Music Centre

program note
This Sonata for Harp is the 20th in a series of sonatas written in the new millennium. It was written for Melina van Leeuwen at the beginning of 2020 following a month in Japan in 2019 where I was in residence at the Akiyoshidai International Art Village. The subtitle, The Bamboo Forest, literally relates to the Arashiyama Bamboo Grove outside of Kyoto, which I walked through. This in turn is a metaphor for entering a state of tranquility. We seek refuge from the charged energy and pace of city life, and walking through the forest helps to reconnect with a quiet state before again resuming our city lives. The sonata is in 10 movements, though is in effect the same 2-minute movement played over, with gradual changes to reflect the journey into and back out of the forest. The premiere performance was given by Melina van Leeuwen at Melba Hall, The University of Melbourne, streamed digitally from 6 August 2020.