All Those Ways of Leaving
for soprano, wind quartet and piano (2009)
duration: 21’
GRT • 142

score available from
Australian Music Centre

program note
These six interludes were written to be interspersed between a reading of Nick Earls’ short story, All Those Ways of Leaving. The interludes are also designed to be able to work on their own.

instrumentation in full
clarinet in Bb (doubling temple bell)
french horn in F (doubling triangle)
bassoon (doubling small ride cymbal)

program order
I: The Golden Hair
oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon, piano

II: Morphine
oboe, horn, bassoon, piano, temple bell

III: A Day Out
oboe, clarinet, piano, ride cymbal, triangle

IV: Leaving (it’s almost Summer)
clarinet, bassoon

V: Another Thing Finished
soprano, horn, piano

VI: The Golden Rope (escape)
full ensemble