Composition with Yellow Lines
for clarinet and piano (2007)

duration: 2’
GRT • 169


score available from
Australian Music Centre

program note
There are eight movements that comprise Mondrian Interiors for mixed sextet, and this brief 7th movement for clarinet and piano, Composition with Yellow Lines, is based on a picture by Dutch artist Piet Mondrian. Created in 1933, it depicts lines that enigmatically meet only outside the canvas. The full work is dedicated to Marshall McGuire and Southern Cross Soloists, who commissioned the work with assistance from the Music Board of the Australia Council for the Arts. The premiere performance featured Paul Dean (clarinet) and Kevin Power (piano).