Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp
‘The Way Through’
duration: 18’
GRT • 228

score available from
Australian Music Centre

program note
i. the way in
ii. the way through
the other side

This is a journey piece. About travel. Maybe a long way or at night. Taken to an unfamiliar destination. Perhaps alone. And on some journeys we encounter obstacles; or a fork in the road. The way through could literally involve a bridge or a tunnel or a change of platform at a train station – but is equally an allegory for how we navigate our daily lives. The central movement of this work was commissioned by the Canberra Symphony Orchestra for their Chamber Classics series concerts and premiered by Emma Sholl, Tor Frømyhr and Rowan Phemister at Albert Hall, Yarralumla Canberra on 13 February 2022.